Maybe it’s the weather…

So I’ve noticed lately that I have not been as prolific as I used to be, or at least not keeping up with the schedule of writing that I had set down in the two previous books.  For my first two novels, it took me exactly two years from first word written to editing the last word.  For the third book, I haven’t been able to write like I used to write.  Between work, school, planning for a wedding, and raising a child, I thought that my lack of progress was simply from being overworked.  I thought that when the wedding was over and things started to slow down, I would have time to write again.

The problem with that theory was the fact that there were no ideas coming.  I knew what I wanted to write, I knew how it was to begin and to end, but the details were not coming to me.  Still, I assumed that things would get back to normal when my schedule returned to normal.

Then, just recently, it got cold here.  The summer, which seemed to have barely just arrived, was gone, and fall rushed in and sunk its teeth in.  The minute the mercury started to drop, my creativity began to rise.  Suddenly, I was filled with new ideas and something more, the desire to write.  Two nights ago, it snowed.  It was nothing big, nothing that any New Englander would normally gush about, except that it was snowing in October.  Snow in October, that was something that I hadn’t seen before.  It was the stuff of imagination.  It was like my books, stuff of imagination.

So now I’m filled with inspiration, writing like I haven’t written since starting this book.  Maybe it is because the wedding is almost here, and there is less to do.  Maybe it is because I have found my rhythm, or that I am unblocked.  Maybe I am filled with inspiration when it snows in October.  May it’s the weather…

Either way, I’m going to get back to work on my book now.  I have to write the next chapter where Detective Grenier meets the woman he is going to marry(I told you I was inspired!!).

About timothylassiter
I am a mystery/detective novel writer who has published two novels and I'm currently working on the third novel.

2 Responses to Maybe it’s the weather…

  1. That’s wonderful! I’m glad you’re writing again.
    I’m questionably enthused by the snow in October. I was on my way home from work when the first flakes fell upon my truck. While others complain, I’m in awe at the familiar texture of the wind and the suble tastes of winter in the air.
    I’d be interested in hearing more about your book!
    -Krista

    • I’m glad to know that I wasn’t the only person who was inspired by snow in October. It’s funny how simple things can make us feel. Each season does have its own special characteristics, and not just the changing of the leaves or the length of the days. The sunlight is different, the shadows are longer in the fall and winter. I love how I enjoy different aspects of each season.

      My books are a series of crime/detective novels. The first is Three Degrees of Separation, and the second is The Devil You Know. I am currently writing the third novel in the series and I really feel that it is starting to come along now. I hope to have it completed by the end of the year. There will still be about 6 months before it is fully edited, but I really feel as though I’m getting into the process that I love the most when writing books.

      -Tim

Leave a Reply

