New Year, New Resolutions, New Plan…

New Year’s resolutions simply kill me.  Whenever I make them, I end up breaking them; and it’s not like I didn’t know all the last year that I needed to do something.  Why does it take a new year to give us the inspiration and motivation to do what we’ve known we needed to do all along?  I think it is because of the novelty of the New Year.  I mean, it only comes around once a year, so I guess we feel full of hope and renewed.  For some, the New Year represents a “clean slate”, the ability make drastic changes in life without the hassle of all the questions.  “Why did you take up exercising?”  The answer is simple, New Year’s resolution, and no one can say anything to trump that.

Sadly, I have a number of New Year’s resolutions that I’m already trying desperately not to break.  Beyond the normal fan favorites of working out, exercising, and eating healthy; I have some professional goals that I feel as though I have to meet.  I have to finish writing my third book.  Usually it only takes me two years from starting a book to seeing it on the bookstore shelves.  However, life events has postponed this book.  Actually, postponed is not even close to relating how delayed I actually am.  While many of the personal changes that happened in my life last year are no longer an issue, I have also devoted myself to another project; my first screenplay.  Now that I have added another project on to this year’s list, I am beginning to worry about completing either of them and having the same type of lack of productivity this year as I did in 2009.

So how do I stay productive and not become one of the millions who breaks my New Year’s resolutions?  I think it is simple, routine.  In psychology, I learned that if a person wants to incorporate something new into their daily routine, like exercise, they need to do the activity at the same time for roughly the same amount of time, every day for three weeks.  After 21 days, the mind fully incorporates this new activity into the normal daily routine and it is no longer a “chore”.  Well, that is what the psychologists say and I guess it can’t hurt to give it the full three weeks to see if they are right.  I need anything to really get a good routine going, and if this is the most natural way, then I am willing to do it.  I’ll let you know what happens.

Is anyone else struggling with New Year’s resolutions?

About timothylassiter
I am a mystery/detective novel writer who has published two novels and I'm currently working on the third novel.

Leave a Reply

