Off and running with the screenplay…

Well, as per all of my other New Year’s commitments, I am off and running with my screenwriting, which I am loving, by the way.  I have to admit that I originally thought that this was going to be one of the hardest things for me to do, write a screenplay.  I mean, you are talking about condensing something that I could have made into a 500+ page book into a 90-110 page screenplay.  I really did not think it could be done, not with how verbose I am.  However, after studying the in’s and out’s of screenwriting, I am finding that it is very exciting and gives me an entirely new perspective to both writing and the movie business.

When I am writing a novel, it is very easy for me to see the scene in my head and to write exactly what I am seeing.  In a novel, I have to write the scene, the detail, the background, what the character is feeling and thinking, and the dialogue.  However, in a screenplay, it is 90% dialogue.  I don’t really have to worry about conveying the details about how the character is feeling because that is what actors are for.  I just have to set the scene, the time of day, explain the action, and get right into the dialogue.  I am currently outlining and prepping the screenplay as we speak and I am up to act two.  I could be done with all the prepping and outlining by the end of the week, which means I could have the entire thing written by the end of next week if I did nothing but screenplay day and night.  At least I’ll have the entire first draft ready for the end of January.

Don’t get me wrong, I still love my detective novel writing.  I am a novelist first and foremost, and I think that I always will be.  That said though, I think that screenwriting is providing me an entirely new way of thinking and expressing myself.  If I end up being successful with this, I think the next project outside of detective novels might be to write a television pilot.  We’ll see what happens.

Let me know what  you think.  For everyone who has written and book or a screenplay, I would love to hear your experiences.

Tim-

About timothylassiter
I am a mystery/detective novel writer who has published two novels and I'm currently working on the third novel.

Leave a Reply

