A New Look…

So, as you may have noticed, there is something new going on with my blog.  In a visual world, first impressions are everything. I always thought that the hardest part of being an author would be writing the book.  I was very, very wrong.  The hardest part of being an author is promoting yourself, publicizing your work, getting your name out there.  I never thought about the fact that even though I had written the book, people weren’t going to know about it unless I did some advertising.  But, how do I advertise.

When you self-publish or go through a small publishing company, an author is not going to get the big publishing house support that we all imagine.  I imagined myself getting phone calls from my publisher or agent, telling me where to go for signings and speaking engagements.  However, this is not necessarily the case.  Even though my book was on all the national and interational databases, for some reason Borders and Barnes & Nobles were not knocking down my door.  What do I do?  You market!

So I read every self-help, self-publicizing, self-promoting, self-advertising book I could get my hands on.  I spent more money on “how to” books than Borders had actually sold of my own books.  I have done everything the books suggested, and each suggestion has been well worth it.  Some ideas were common sense; contact local media outlets, call local bookstores, reach out to book clubs and libraries.  Other ideas let me in on a world of advertising that I had never known existed.  All of the ideas and suggestions led to getting the word out about my books, making them worth every dollar I spent.

However, when it comes down to it, there is no better marketing than word of mouth.  There is something about someone you know and trust suggesting that you invest your time and imagination into a book.  It is advertisement that always hits the mark, and is passed down to others.  It is the cheapest, most effective marketing I have ever seen.  However, you still have to get your name and information out to people, especially people you don’t already know.  That’s where a little bit of technology comes in.

I made a generic website, put together a blog, but it was my beautiful and creative wife who reminded me that my website was a first impression, and generic was not going to sell books.  A generic website was not going to relay the complete, polished story that I was trying to convey.  Alison offered to show me what a polished website could do and say, and this blog look is the first step.  First thing, a logo, and I have to say, the logo alone is extremely exciting.  With the new site being put together, I can only imagine how much fun we are going to have promoting and talking about Three Degrees of Separation and The Devil You Know, as well as the work yet to come.

Stay tuned, there is a lot more on the way.  Let me know what you think of Alison’s work so far!!

Tim

About timothylassiter
I am a mystery/detective novel writer who has published two novels and I'm currently working on the third novel.

5 Responses to A New Look…

  1. alison says:

    obviously, i think it’s brilliant!

  2. Jackson says:

    Hey Tim,

    I finally got around to reading Three Degrees of Separation, and I LOVED IT. I have just ordered The Devil You Know and I can’t wait to read that. It took me no time at all to read through the book, and I almost was late to work all last week because of the lack of sleep I’ve been getting. I read through the night several nights. Keep us updated on when the next book is coming out.

    The logo looks great by the way. I can’t wait to see what the new website has in store for us!

    Jacksn

  3. Debbie Blair says:

    Tim – I think you have hit the nail on the head with the website….. I agree… Your wife is brilliant! : ) I LOVE your books, and have been waiting very patiently for the next book in the series to come out… I tell everyone about your books, and have shared with many…. I even have two copies of the first book because you signed the first one and I didn’t want to share that one or ruin it so I bought another copy to share! : )

    I will continue to tell everyone about your work… you are a great writer. It’s so exciting to have an author so local! I love how you write about local places and I can picture the places very vividly….

    I will be following your new website and again, share with my friends and family…. The best of luck to you!

    • Thank you so much for your positive comments. I tell you, hearing things like this just motivates me to write more and more. The third book in the Nicholas Grenier series, Learned Behavior, is going to the publisher at the end of the year. Sorry for the delay, but I got caught up in a couple of other projects. However, I am eager to finish Learned Behavior because I think it is the best story yet in the series.

      Thank you again for your continued support. I’ll be writing on the blog more consistently, and Alison is putting together a new website that will blow everyone away! It is much more interactive and will allow my readers to feel more a part of the creative experience. I have a new fan page on Facebook, so if you have time, check that out too. Thanks again!!!

      -Tim

Leave a Reply

