And the award for best movie of last weekend goes to…

I love movies.  I LOVE movies.  I have always loved watching movies and, over the course of my adulthood, I have become the type of movie hoarder who actually alphabetizes his DVD collection (I’m not the only one, there are others of you out there and you know who you are!).  Netflix has been a savior over the last couple of years because I have been able to see more movies without going bankrupt buying new DVD’s every Tuesday, only to dislike some movies.  Lately, DVD’s have been sitting on the table for weeks, unviewed.  So in order to get the most out of my Netflix subscription, and as I am beginning to take a behind-the-scenes interest in movies and how they are made; I have stepped up the number of movies I’ve been watching.

Last weekend I watched three movies, and I was quite surprised by which ones I enjoyed.  I watched Prince of Persia: Sands of Time with my daughter.  Even though it was a Disney movie, I did not go in with very high expectations of a movie that was developed from a game.  These concepts have let us all down in the past.  However, the movie was really pretty good.  The script was actually well thought out and well written, the computer effects were outstanding, and the cast of A-list actors really helped to create a really good movie.  I had gone into this thinking that it would be a cheesy movie and came out loving the movie and having some great family time with Breanna.  Following this, I had such high expectations thinking that my next movie, Robin Hood with Russell Crowe.

Robin Hood was not what I expected either, though not in a good way.  Robin Hood was an extremely long, very detailed oriented examination of the legend in which Ridley Scott attempted to incorporate history into the storyline.  It was a very interesting idea and if it were any other story, it might have worked.  Unfortunately, there were too many elements involved to make the whole thing work, and in the end, I was left with a very slow moving movie which was well-acted, but left me confused and dissatisfied.  Robin Hood was even slower than Oliver Stone’s Alexander, which was painful in itself.  While the movie is listed at 140 minutes, ten minutes over two hours, but it felt as if it were three hours long.  I can only sit patiently for that long if I’m watching giant blue aliens flying around on prehistoric dino-birds!! (Shout out to Avatar) If I was bored by the new version of Robin Hood, what would people who were expecting a newer version of Robin Hood: Prince of Theives going to think?  For me, I was just disappointed and oddly curious.  Robin Hood ends as though it were the beginning of legend, which makes me wonder if there is going to be a sequel.  I’ll have to look into it, but if this movie wasn’t good, then what chance do any sequels have?

So, in the end, movie weekend was quite surprising.  Being a screenwriter and a possible aspiring director, I learned a lot from these two movies.  Nothing can take the place of a well-written script.  You can have all the A-list actors in the world, but if the storyline isn’t there, you’ve got nothing!  There is a time limit on anyone’s attention, and there is only so much one director can try to do with a movie before he loses all interest in the movie altogether.  Both movies had a great list of actors.  Both movies clearly had a lot of money backing them.  In the end, storyline and understanding the audience wins out and so the award for last weekend’s movie goes to…

Disney’s Prince of Persia: Sands of Time. (wait for the applause to die down).

I’m interested in your input and advice.  What movies have you seen lately? What did you like and dislike and why? I’ll keep you updated as I continue watching.  I watched some interesting ones this weekend too, which we will talk about next time.

About timothylassiter
I am a mystery/detective novel writer who has published two novels and I'm currently working on the third novel.

4 Responses to And the award for best movie of last weekend goes to…

  1. Tim, what about “I Love You, Man”?! That is our favorite. And we watched it last night! I don’t really enjoy movies adapted from video games OR movies where men run around with bows and arrows though. Maybe next time, you can watch a romantic comedy with me and see how you like it!

    • Ok, I Love You Man doesn’t count only because I’ve seen it before. That said, that movie is still so funny that I almost SNOFFED! As for your suggestions for romantic comedies, I just watched Serendipity and I can still taste the metal from where I had the gun in my mouth. That movie almost killed me! We need to find a nice romantic historical/romantic comedy that we can both enjoy. Anyone have any suggestions???

  2. LOL – Kate & Leopold?

Leave a Reply

