Writing a new pilot for an old show…

So I’ve had this bug to write a television pilot, and I’ve had a lot of ideas but I haven’t jumped into anything yet. However, I’ve been so disappointed with television lately that I thought to myself, I could write something better than this! Not the sitcoms, mind you. I’m not funny, not in the comedy writing kind of way. I’m good with drama, crime dramas in particular. So I’ve decided that I’m going to write a television show.
Here’s my biggest pet peeve, remakes. I don’t have a problem with remakes, I have a problem with the majority of remakes because they do not properly reference the old television show. You can’t stick new, hip actors into an old show theme and expect the show to be a success. There is a reason that those old shows were so successful, and understanding that can make a remake just as successful as the original. Immediately, one show came to mind and I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind since; Knight Rider.
Knight Rider came out in 1982 and was a success for 4 seasons. Since Knight Rider went off the air there have been four spin-off made for TV movies and two spin off series; and no one remembers any of them. Why was Knight Rider so successful in 1982-1986 and not success since. Writing? Acting? The car? Maybe it is because there is only one Michael Knight.
So I have an idea. I’m going to write a pilot for a new Knight Rider. I’ve decided that I’m going to design a show that people are going to remember. I know what most of you are thinking. Knight Rider? Really? Is anyone going to take this serious? My answer, yep! And I’ll tell you how, later, as we get closer. So tonight I started writing the pilot, and it’s going to be GOOD! Trust me.
About timothylassiter
I am a mystery/detective novel writer who has published two novels and I'm currently working on the third novel.

Leave a Reply

